RSS

Working on a Business

18 Aug


As many of you know I have health problems, and some of those health issues cause me to be susceptible to every virus that is brought around me.  That is one of the struggles when you have Epstein-Barre Syndrome, every time someone has the flu, a virus, colds, strep throat, or any other such thing, I get it.  So my last few weeks have been filled with these things.  I spent a lot of time down with the flu, a sore throat and a ear infection, along with dealing with my pain from arthritis, bone spurs, and fibromyalgia.  But I didn’t let this all keep me from doing something constructive…something that I’m still working on.  With the cost of things  going up in the U.S., and government budget cuts that affected my husband with a 6 month layoff, we found ourselves in the same position as many Americans, living from pay day to payday, well actually more like payday to the week before the next payday.  So I set out to find a way to help my husband with finances, despite having to spend so much time in bed due to pain.  A couple weeks ago while straightening up things in my room, I found a program that my husband got me that allows me to design cross stitch designs.   I can use my photos, clipart, or my own artwork to create beautiful design instructions for other cross stitchers.  For those who do not know what this is, it is a type of embroidery where simple X’s are made on canvas to complete a design using embroidery thread.  I’m still working on getting designs together, but I’m also researching ecommerce sites that offer what I need to have my own site.  I’m praying God’s leading, direction and blessing on this endeavor.  I’m hoping that it will be the help my family needs to get through this tough time.  However in doing this I’m not able to spend too much time blogging, or on other things.  I’ve had to cut down other activities on the computer, even time on Facebook and on my email.  I know once I get it up and running I will have more time for other things though.  I wanted to share some of the designs I’ve finished working on in this post.  Each design comes with…

  1. the original photograph or artwork I used,
  2. a jpeg of the finished design,
  3. a pdf of a black and white representation of the design with symbols showing wear each color goes,
  4. a stitch pattern pdf showing what the finished work looks like in cross stitch,
  5. a color key pdf showing the colors of embroidery thread used for that design, and the measurements of it.
  6. a pdf with color blocking of the design, for those who prefer to use a color graph without symbols
  7. and a pdf with color blocking with the symbols.

I’ve worked on hard designs for those who are looking for a challenge, medium designs for those who are at the intermediate level, and easier designs for those who are new to cross stich along with children who are just learning how to cross stitch.

I’m rejoicing to have found some way of using my own drawings and photos in a way to help my family.  Please pray with me that this works out, and that God will bless each step and open the doors along the way.  Below are some of the designs I’m finished with.  Enjoy!

An angel, one of many I drew and designed.

A chocolate milkshake from my

art.

Woman with the Alabaster Jar of oil.

A parfait from my artwork.

Blueberry Muffin

A Cupcake with Pink Icing and Sprinkles

Stained Glass design

Original artwork

Stained glass design done in cross stitch.  It looks better without the glare from my camara.

Very colorful parrots

A secluded waterfall.

King Solomon

Bird and Flower

Fashion Face. I love designing hats, shoes and clothes. Jk wants me to make a bunch like these and make them into a quilt for her bedroom.

Patchwork Boot…my artwork

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Working on a Business

  1. alwayzhis

    August 19, 2012 at 9:54 PM

    Praying for you dear sister as I know quite well the issues of physical limitations due to chronic illnesses. I will pray that this is definitely a way for you to help financially in the family. I am also praying that our Amazing God will give you time of strength when you are down.
    Prayerfully
    Stephanie

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      August 22, 2012 at 3:26 PM

      Thank you Stephanie, and I appreciate the prayers for me and for this venture.

       
  2. originalapplejunkie

    August 19, 2012 at 7:23 PM

    I love bird and flower!

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      August 22, 2012 at 3:28 PM

      Thank you, I liked the way it came out. I’m still trying to figure out how to get my computer to take a picture for me, instead of having to use my camara, because the way I do it now leaves a glare.

       
  3. twisteddomesticgoddess

    August 19, 2012 at 8:55 AM

    Oh my goodness that waterfall is amazing!you have some real talent

     
  4. stayathomefreelancingmom

    August 19, 2012 at 7:57 AM

    You might look into Intuit. I was able to get a 3 page website for 1 year for free. I am using it for my freelancing site.

     
  5. Holly Michael

    August 18, 2012 at 11:31 PM

    Love not live. Lol

     
  6. Holly Michael

    August 18, 2012 at 11:30 PM

    Praying for you and live the artwork

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      August 22, 2012 at 3:33 PM

      Thank you for the prayers, Holly. I really appreciate them. I’m glad you like the artwork, too.

       
  7. Lynne

    August 18, 2012 at 10:52 PM

    Cool idea! Can you customize with personal photos? Best wishes and I’ll keep you, your health issues and your family in prayer 🙂

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      August 22, 2012 at 3:36 PM

      Lynne, yes I can customize with personal photos. I’ve been practicing with photos of my daughters and grandchildren. I only do the patterns, and then the purchasers will do the cross stitching. I’ll try to do a blog post with the ones I’ve done with my family photos soon.

       
      • Lynne

        August 22, 2012 at 4:10 PM

        Wonderful. Good to know. Congrats on the new business 🙂

         
      • forhisgloryandpraise

        August 22, 2012 at 5:46 PM

        Thank you!

         
  8. writerwannabe763

    August 18, 2012 at 9:20 PM

    I will most certainly pray on your behalf. I hope your health is better also than what it’s been. You of course need to concentrate on the most important things in your life right now…Take care..Diane

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      August 22, 2012 at 3:38 PM

      Thank you for the prayers, Diane. I appreciate them immensely. I’m hoping that my appointment in September will be one that will make decisions on dealing with the bone spurs on my spine that are making it difficult to walk and stand. I really hate being immobile most of the time…lol. Hyper people shouldn’t be stuck in bed…lol.

       
  9. terry1954

    August 18, 2012 at 8:58 PM

    I am so happy for you and you will do excellent work!

     

Leave a Reply

 
