RSS

Bible Verse…1John 4

16 Aug

1John 4
Chapter 4

1 Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world. 2 Hereby know ye the Spirit of God: Every spirit that confesseth that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is of God: 3 And every spirit that confesseth not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is not of God: and this is that spirit of antichrist, whereof ye have heard that it should come; and even now already is it in the world.
4 Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world. 5 They are of the world: therefore speak they of the world, and the world heareth them. 6 We are of God: he that knoweth God heareth us; he that is not of God heareth not us. Hereby know we the spirit of truth, and the spirit of error.
7 Beloved, let us love one another: for love is of God; and every one that loveth is born of God, and knoweth God. 8 He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love. 9 In this was manifested the love of God toward us, because that God sent his only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through him. 10 Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. 11 Beloved, if God so loved us, we ought also to love one another.
12 No man hath seen God at any time. If we love one another, God dwelleth in us, and his love is perfected in us. 13 Hereby know we that we dwell in him, and he in us, because he hath given us of his Spirit. 14 And we have seen and do testify that the Father sent the Son to be the Saviour of the world. 15 Whosoever shall confess that Jesus is the Son of God, God dwelleth in him, and he in God. 16 And we have known and believed the love that God hath to us. God is love; and he that dwelleth in love dwelleth in God, and God in him.
17 Herein is our love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as he is, so are we in this world. 18 There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love. 19 We love him, because he first loved us.
20 If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen? 21 And this commandment have we from him, That he who loveth God love his brother also.
� KJV

 

I’m not going to write much on this, because God gave us all we need to be overcomers through him in the words of this passage.  It contains one of my favorite scriptures, and in this day and age there could be no better advice then what I John 4 gives us.  We should daily claim the power of Jesus Christ to overcome Satan and the world, and all those evil ones in the world.  I thank God for giving me these words over and over at the times I need most.  May God make his power and strength over and over.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Bible Verse…1John 4

  1. forhisgloryandpraise

    August 22, 2012 at 5:30 PM

    I guess it didn’t post my reply earlier…here is what I replied when you first commented. I do believe that it can even be family. I have a brother who turned from God when my mother died. He started doing drugs and getting into trouble. He was in so much trouble that I had to kick him out of our home to get the point across to him that his behavior was unacceptable, especially since it would affect my oldest daughter who was only 6 at the time. I moved to California and the next time I saw this brother was when my 3 adopted girls were 6, 5, and 4, and my oldest was around 16 or 17. We saw him at a baseball game in Los Angeles, and then he invited us down to his home. That was during the time of the First Gulf War. He had a girlfriend that had been raised in witchcraft, and my brother who had gone to college when he was younger to be an evangelist was trying to straighten out his life. He was reading his Bible, but was smoking pot and checking Bible prophecy out by having his wife read Tarot cards to verify it. Within a year my brother proclaimed that he was Jesus, and that our little brother, his “now” wife, and I were angels. His reasoning was the verse in the Bible that said that Jesus will “wash us and we shall be whiter than snow”. He said I was the proof, because 2 weeks before I was born my mother had begun hemmoraghing and had to have blood transfusions. My mother had the rarest blood type AB negative. They had to put out a call for someone with the same bloodtype as she, and in the whole state of New Mexico there was only one. He was a black sargeant with the last name of SNOW. My brother said that because the last 3 of us received blood from mom after the transfusion then this verse was about us, because we were whiter than Sgt. Snow who gave Mom blood. He than said if I recognized scars that were on his wrist and ankles, and across his forehead. I was familiar with them. The scars on his forehead were from a motorcycle accident. The scars on his wrists were from falling on a floor heater at my sister’s house when he was in Junior High. It was New Year’s Eve and he was dancing and tripped over me while I was laying in a sleeping bag next to the floor heater in my sister’s living room. The scars on his ankle were from playing baseball and having been stepped on by the metal cleats. But my brother swore that they were from him being crucified on the cross.
    I can tell you I was stunned to see my brother being a false prophet or antiChrist. Years later he was making prophecies that Los Angeles was going to be covered with 1,000 feet of water, and that God was going to destroy it completely. I was living just outside of L.A. in Pasadena at the time. He was now declaring himself to be an End-Time Prophet, and started writing Scripture out of context while smoking pot. He was mailing it to churches all over California, and he kept sending me copies and asking me to read it. I couldn’t believe how little sense his writing made, but when you read the Bible as it is written it makes complete sense, which to me proved even more that the Bible is of God. He and his wife came to see a show at a church that I was stage-managing, and she pulled me aside and asked what I thought of my brother’s prophecy. I told her…”When it does not come true you will know what I think.” I shared the Gospel with her, and told her that she needed to be in the Word of God, and compare what it really says as written to what he was writing. My family moved to Missouri within a year of this. Then after Jklyn was born, I took Jklyn and my second oldest daughter and moved back to California, in fact right across the lake from this brother and his wife and daughter. He was still calling himself an end time prophet, smoking pot and taking the Bible out of context in his writing. One day his wife came to my shop and asked me to try to read his prophecies…that she didn’t believe them, but did read them because she loved my brother. I told her I would try, but even trying I could not do it because something in me went off like a warning from God.
    So yes, I believe false prophets can be family. I do know that God can even change the life of a false prophet though, because here we are 12 years later, and my brother has stopped the pot, the writing of the Bible out of context and is no longer claiming to be anything but himself, my brother. He loves God, and tries to live for him. His wife and college age daughter are both Christians too. They steer away from her mom who still is not a Christian, still believes in witchcraft, and hates the 3 of them for becoming Christians. So when you ask if I believe that family members can be false prophets I know they can from experience. Whenever a person starts talking prophecy and that they are being told to tell you something by God, or that something is going to happen because God told them so, or an angel told them so…CHECK it with the BIBLE. I can’t stress enough that if I hadn’t been in the Bible myself it would have been easy for my brother to draw me into his falseness, and Satan to get a foothold. But because I was in my Bible daily, I was able to stand against it with God’s help. I hope that helps you with your question.

     
  2. terry1954

    August 16, 2012 at 10:54 AM

    false prophets, i have been thinking on this lately, do you think it can include even family’s words??

     

Leave a Reply

 
