RSS

Heroes for My Daughter…By: Brad Meltzer

12 Jun

Heroes for My Daughter…By: Brad Meltzer

Genre:  Inspirational Non-Fiction

Reviewed by:  Bonita L. Ledzius

Reviewed on:  June 12, 2012

Publisher:  Harper Collins

Published in: 2012

Did you know that Marie Curie didn’t stop working on her research even after contracting radiation from her research?  Did you know that First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt once visited a tent city for veterans of the military to check on their condition…on her own?  How about Golda Meir, past Prime Minister of Israel?  Did you know that she was one of eight children and that she was also one of the only three to survive?  These are just three of the many facts that Brad Meltzer shares about the people he feels should be heroes for his daughter.  “Heroes for My Daughter” is over-flowing with many amazing facts and reasons for the heroes Meltzer picked to be heroes.  Some are facts that are taught in school, but many are facts that are not taught but should be.

I confess I’m a fan of Brad Meltzer’s Decoded show, but knowing that I wasn’t sure this book would be that good.  Often we tell people…”Stick to what you know best!”  After reading this book, I have to say that I’m glad Meltzer didn’t stick to what he knew best!  I am glad that he used his amazing ability to dig for the truth to uncover some equally amazing facts about the myriad of people in this book.  From the letter to his daughter in the beginning of the book, to the last page I was emotionally bound to the “Heroes For My Daughter”.  I was excited about sharing this book with my youngest daughter, but found that I loved it just as much as she did.  There are facts in this book, that I had never learned in school, and even recent stories about women I had never heard of who are true heroes.

I wouldn’t just recommend this for young girls, but for both parents as well, and also for single adult women who need heroes to look up to and pattern their lives after.  I may not agree with all of the people Brad Meltzer chose as heroes, but even on these few he have excellent reasons as to why they should be heroes. Meltzer chose heroes that were achievers who looked pass each of their successes to their next challenge. Some of the heroes he chose showed great compassion, or great perseverance, showing that it is important to overcome adversity, or help others overcome their adversity.  All in all, I loved Meltzer’s perspective on each hero, and on his reason for writing the the book. Our daughters need to have heroes who show moral fortitude, and perseverance and grace under pressure.  This is a must read book and should be added to every school library!

Rating…G…This is a great read on your own, but is also a good one for parents to read to their young children.

Copy provided by:  Publisher…Thank you!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Heroes for My Daughter…By: Brad Meltzer

  1. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman

    June 18, 2012 at 4:08 PM

    Sounds like a good read, thanks for sharing, it will be added to my reading list! Blessings ~ Patty

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      June 18, 2012 at 5:11 PM

      It is a great book, and will be released sometime this year. I got a prerelease copy to review, and was wonderfully suprised about how good it was. It will definately be a book to treasure, share with children and grandchildren. You will enjoy it!

       
  2. hisprincess3

    June 13, 2012 at 5:10 PM

    Youre making want to buy this book now. Hopefull its at the library, if not ill just get from the book store. Great post! Im always looking for new books to read, especially over the summer sjnce school is out. If you know any great christian fiction books please tell me!

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      June 13, 2012 at 7:44 PM

      A great place to look at reviews of books, especially Christian ones is the site I write reviews for. Here is a link to it…http://radiantlit.com/ I’m just one of many reviewers there, and there are some great books reviewed there. If you like Bible based books, check out my review of The Book of Matthew from The Jesus Chronicles. There are 4 books to this series and all should be available at libraries right now. But this site has a great deal of Christian fictions, among other genres of books too.

       
      • hisprincess3

        June 14, 2012 at 5:12 PM

        Thank you sooo much 🙂

         
      • forhisgloryandpraise

        June 14, 2012 at 8:12 PM

        You’re welcome!

         

Leave a Reply

 
