RSS

Summer Bruchetta Sampler Dinner

09 Jun

We’ve had a great deal of heat lately here, ozone warnings, and humidity too.  It’s just too hot for a stew, chili, or any other heavy meal.  Since Jk likes to cook, I wanted to teach her something new, easy, and light for such a day as today.  While grocery shopping yesterday we found bags of bruchetta bread on sale.  When I saw that I thought…”Hmm great snack food for those times when I don’t feel like eating much.”  But after watching Iron Chef last night something else came to me…”Why not teach Jk how to make Bruchetta?”  So tonight after a day of running errands, I decided it would be the perfect time to do just that.  We made Chicken Salad Bruchetta, a simple Cucumber-Garden Style Cream Cheese Bruchetta, Ham-Asparagus and Mozzarella Bruchetta, Tomato-Basil and Mozzarella Bruchetta, and last a Portabello Mushroom-Sweet Pepper and Ham Bruchetta.  At first she didn’t think she was going to like anything but the Ham and Asparagus ones, but as we cooked I had her taste everything to make sure the seasoning was alright.  I wish I could really describe in a few words the look on her face with each taste.  Her eyes widened, then closed as she savored each bite.  Then finally a big smile would cross her face and she would say…”Oh Mom, that is so delicious!”  Needless to say, she didn’t just eat one piece of each type of Bruchetta.  In fact, I quit counting how many times she went back for more after the third time.   Her favorite was the Tomato-Basil and Mozzarella Bruchetta.  My granddaughter, Aubrey, loved helping and her favorite was the Chicken Salad Bruchetta.  My husband and I loved them all, but we aren’t as picky as the two girls are.  Talk about a successful adventure into new foods…this was one!  Here are the pictures of our Summer Bruchetta Sampler Dinner.

Tomato-Basil and Mozzarella Bruchetta

Portabello Mushroom-Sweet Peppers and Ham Bruchetta

Cucumber and Garden Style Cream Cheese Bruchetta

Ham Rollups with Aspargus and Mozzarella Bruchetta

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Summer Bruchetta Sampler Dinner

  1. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman

    June 11, 2012 at 7:15 PM

    I know what I am going to take up to my sisters for our next picnic! 🙂 ~Patty

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      June 11, 2012 at 7:52 PM

      They would be perfect for that. You can get a lot of recipes and ideas from Food Network.com on how to make them.

       
  2. Lynne

    June 11, 2012 at 11:10 AM

    I’m hungry after reading this 🙂

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      June 11, 2012 at 3:04 PM

      I know. I ate more today for lunch with my granddaughter. I took one look at my blog post this morning and couldn’t wait for lunch to come…lol.

       
  3. beatrix mana

    June 10, 2012 at 12:08 AM

    Sounds yummy

     
  4. writerwannabe763

    June 9, 2012 at 10:23 PM

    Mmmmmmmmm I like your cooking! I can almost taste it….Diane

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      June 9, 2012 at 10:31 PM

      Thank you, it was good! This is my type of cooking, fresh and from scratch. I don’t like those pre-packaged foods feeled with additives and sodium. I can’t tell you how successful this meal was with my family more than just saying they went back more than 3 times for more. That told me they loved it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
