RSS

The Beloved Stranger…By: Grace Livingston Hill…Book Review

22 Apr

The Beloved Stranger

By: Grace Livingston Hill

Genre:  Christian Romance

Reviewed by:  Bonita L. Ledzius…Radiant Lit

Publisher:  Barbour Publishing, Inc….2012

Reviewed on:  March 27, 2012

Sherrill Cameron is all a-flutter about her special day.  Everything seems perfect, her dress, her veil, the bouquet of flowers, and even the new wardrobe she has purchased for the honeymoon voyage.  Then why does she feel like something is wrong when she looks at herself in the mirror?  Was it fear, or doubt?  She felt so lucky to be marrying Carter McArthur…until she catches him with another woman and finds that his love for her is based on lies and greed.  In a last minute switch she sends the other woman down the aisle to marry her bridegroom.   Was she doing the right thing?  Would she have regrets for not fighting for this man she loved?  How long would this aching in her heart last?

Graham Copeland had just arrived in town when he was swept up in a very strange wedding drama.  Who knew that this woman that he caught as she fell from her car near the church would become the center of his life so fast?  They knew nothing about each other, except what had taken place at the church when Graham helped Sherrill up to the choir balcony, but Graham was quickly swept up with this lovely woman.  He’d help her through to the end of the reception no matter what it took.  Could Sherrill really trust him?  Was he connected to the missing emerald necklace that was a gift from Sherrill’s Aunt Pat Catherwood?  Once the wedding was over, would Sherrill ever see her “Beloved Stranger” again?

Carter McArthur was shocked and quite stunned when he saw Arla Prentiss walking towards him in the white bridal gown, instead of Sherrill Cameron.  A mixture of fear and anger rose inside him, knowing he had been found out and that he was never going to have a chance at the Catherwood fortune.  Why was Arla the bride instead of Sherrill?  How would he pay off his many creditors?  Would he really lose his business over this misfortunate marriage?

To read more of this review, check it out at…http://radiantlit.com/2012/05/review-the-beloved-stranger/

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “The Beloved Stranger…By: Grace Livingston Hill…Book Review

  1. Bird

    April 23, 2012 at 10:26 AM

    Tag, you’re it! Somehow, I ended up in a game of tag and I’m now tagging you! Here is the link with the rules and the one question I picked out for you to answer… 🙂

    http://birdmartin.wordpress.com/2012/04/23/a-game-of-tag/

    — Bird

     
  2. Bird

    April 23, 2012 at 6:07 AM

    Grace Livingston Hill was the only romance writer that I was allowed to read her books as a teenager…You were right on in the review… I think I even read this one, but I’m not sure…I am sleep-deprived at the moment, so I can’t trust my old broken brain!

     
  3. NanaDoll

    April 23, 2012 at 12:43 AM

    i grew up reading Grace Livingston Hill books. awesome writer, very old-fashioned, but uplifting and always directing the reader to God’s grace and mercy through Jesus.

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      April 23, 2012 at 12:20 PM

      I had just discovered her when the site I review books for asked me to review a few of her books. I have come to love her books in such a short time, and I’m glad that they are releasing them again. It is strange how the soceity that she describes in her books is so much like what we are seeing happening again today. It’s eye-opening to say the least! And I love the way she bring in salvation’s message in each book.

       
      • NanaDoll

        April 23, 2012 at 1:44 PM

        Yes!

         
  4. Bird

    April 22, 2012 at 6:47 PM

    My comment thing didn’t let me reply to you on my site, so I thought I’d drop by for a visit! Anyways, I appreciate you sharing your history with me. I’m really sorry about all the abuse you suffered. I’m pretty fortunate that I didn’t have to suffer at anyone else’s hand..just the one guy. In the meantime, I’m going to pray about your suggestion because you sound pretty right to me. I thank you again so much for caring enough to write me about your own painful past.

    Your sister,
    Bird

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      April 22, 2012 at 6:54 PM

      I’m glad you stopped by, and if it were possible I’d offer you a cup of internet coffee while we visited…lol. No reason to be sorry…God brings good out of bad, if only to offer you comfort during this trying time. My heart goes out to you, because I know your struggle is out of love for your father and your brother. I know too, that God will deal with your brother’s heart, and his confusion over the past. You know just as I do, that we often lock away the hurt and try to continue to live life, but we also know the sweet release of true forgiveness for others who have hurt us….doesn’t mean we forget, but that we give it to God instead of holding on. Your brother will come to that, as sure as I know that Jesus died on the cross for our sins. We just need to lift him in prayer. I can’t guarentee that he will change his mind before your father does pass, but God still works wonders, and if that is what is holding your father back from giving his heart to God, then I know that God will remove that stumbling block, because as the Bible says he does not want to lose even one soul. Hold to that Bird, and know that He who promised is faithful to keep his promises to us.

       
      • Bird

        April 22, 2012 at 6:56 PM

        🙂 I’m holding the faith!

         

Leave a Reply

 
