RSS

The Darkness of the Soul

12 Apr

This is a poem of mine that was published in the 2005 Who’s Who in Poetry.  It won an Editor’s Choice Award, and was one of 3 specially featured in the book.  To preface it, I had written it during a week long downpour of rain and storms, which reminded me of how during the worst times in my life how my own soul felt like a storm.  The sunshine that finally calmed those storms is Jesus Christ, who is my Lord and Savior.  Here is the poem.

The Darkness of the Soul

 

The darkness of the sky

Reflects the inner me,

Beyond the smiling face

Where no one else can see.

With each drop of rain that falls,

With every thundercloud that roars,

The darkness spreads the Earth,

Hiding the sun forevermore.

The aching heart cries out

For freedom and for hope,

But the storms of life

Keep things bound by painful ropes.

I long for the peace

Of a sunny summer day,

Praying that the wind

Will blow storms and pain away.

I want to feel the breeze,

And the warmth of rays of sun,

Clearing out the sadness

And the weeping I have done.

By: Bonita L. Ledzius  Copyright 2005

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2012 in Christianity, My Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The Darkness of the Soul

  1. writerwannabe763

    April 17, 2012 at 8:07 PM

    Full of tender and meaningful thoughts

     
  2. Sofia

    April 14, 2012 at 3:08 PM

    Beautiful.

     

Leave a Reply

 
