RSS

John Branyan – The Three Little Pigs – YouTube

01 Jun

As a homeschooling mom, who has worked in Public Schools in the past, I know that the biggest problem in schools today is that they are not teaching the basics like they should.  Schools are so full of propaganda and junk that our children are being dumbed down in them.  The serious part of this video is the fact that our vocabulary is down to 3,000 words, where in the 1700’s it was extremely larger among children.  He makes his point by telling a fairy tale as it would have been told back in the 1700’s with the addition of one pig who is from the American colonies.  It is hilarious!  I hope you enjoy it, and yet think about the importance of a good education based on learning the basics of reading, writing and arithmetic.  Just click on the following link to watch the video, and be ready to laugh until it hurts!

John Branyan – The Three Little Pigs – YouTube.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “John Branyan – The Three Little Pigs – YouTube

  1. Anne Sikes

    June 5, 2012 at 10:07 AM

    Bonita, I’ve nominated you for the Commentator Award! http://mylifeuncutalmost.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/the-commentator-award/

     
  2. terry1954

    June 1, 2012 at 9:14 PM

    that was fantastic! also sad that we do not speak words anymore. today there is more slang, which half the time i don’t get. thanks for sharing. loved it!

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      June 1, 2012 at 10:53 PM

      Jklyn learned today why I push vocabulary and spelling so much. She kept telling me…but mom they don’t do spelling in 6th grade and up anymore. I told her and that is why your vocabulary and grammar is better than your friends who go to public school. That is part of my purpose for her writing on her blog, doing research and also doing book reviews. I have her write them on paper first, then online. Our public schools have dumbed down our kids so much by making propaganda and other things so much more important than the basics, and that is why the U.S. is now 26th in Student intelligence. I won’t have my daughter dumbed down, and that is one reason I homeschool. I listened to a History expert the other day, and he had textbooks from the 1800’s. Kids then were learning vocabulary words in elementary grades that our college students are just learning now. That is sad.

       
      • terry1954

        June 1, 2012 at 11:17 PM

        yes that is sad to learn. sports have become more important than learning. we can not learn to much. an education will carry our children far into the future. we need it, i can not stress this enough. you are a great mom and teacher to your children. they will hug you one day for what you did for them today

         
      • forhisgloryandpraise

        June 2, 2012 at 12:16 AM

        I would be happy if they made the same effort to make sure my grandchildren don’t become dumbed down by public education. I know that my oldest daughter is already fighting to make sure her high school age son gets a good education, although homeschooling isn’t allowed in the state where she lives. She fights the school tooth and nail when they push propaganda instead of basics. She also homeschooled her son for a good portion of his elementary years to make sure he had the basics. This is my grandson who is most like my husband…a computer whiz, who hopes to go into electronics after high school. I pray my other daughters with children will take my grandchildrens’ education as seriously.

         
  3. writerwannabe763

    June 1, 2012 at 9:13 PM

    That video was very cute and yet had a meaning undeniably. Not too long ago I was at our grandson’s and was looking at him doing his homework…This boy gets practically all A’s and yet when I saw his printing and writing skills I was flabbergasted…It was awful. I did not say that to him but just said something like my writing was not nearly as good as ‘Grampy’s’ and then casually asked him if they had writing exercises like we used to have when we went to school…etc. and he said no they didn’t. Are we so into computers and typing now that our schools don’t think it is necessary to learn how to write properly. Our marks for most subjects used to be partially based on how neatly written or printed it was…but that does not seem to be the case now! That is a shame!….Diane

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      June 1, 2012 at 10:47 PM

      Here in Indiana they thought about doing away with cursive writing in schools altogether because of the use of computers and such. There was a major uproar…because how are kids going to know how to write their signature if they don’t learn cursive. We said it was a set up for identity theft in the future, because anyone can print a name. From working in the public schools I can tell you they stop encouraging writing in about 2nd grade and it is a shame.

       
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      June 1, 2012 at 10:58 PM

      You know that you can help him without him knowing it. I have Jk practice writing by making grocery list for me, copying down recipes, and just making chore list and more. She thinks that it is just because I have really weak vision, but it is really just to keep her practicing her penmanship. My eyes are weak, so I’m not lieing to her…but I can make list with my eyes closed…lol. I was appalled at how she was writing when she was attending public school in the beginning of 3rd grade, and when we took her out and I started homeschooling her that was one of my goals to see her penmanship improve each year.

       
      • writerwannabe763

        June 2, 2012 at 12:23 AM

        I’ll have to think of something similar but there is a distance problem…I am in Ontario Canada and he is now living for the past two years in the state next to yours…Illinois. Maybe I can ask him to write me a letter but I think that would be a bit obvious since he would wonder why not an email…lol Diane

         
      • forhisgloryandpraise

        June 2, 2012 at 11:39 AM

        Maybe ask him to draw pictures for your refrigerator to include in the letters, and tell him you can carry a letter in your purse to read over and over no matter where you are. Nothing more soothing to a grandma’s frazzled day then to read a letter from a granchild she loves.

         
  4. beatrix mana

    June 1, 2012 at 2:04 PM

    I am a stay at home mom for the last 32 years. My oldest is 32 and youngest is 17. I homeschooled most of the kids. I do not regret any of it and they don’t either. We have relied solely on my husbands income and at times it was and can be tough,but the Dear Lord always provides.

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      June 1, 2012 at 2:22 PM

      I homeschool too, and have found that it has been so much better for my youngest daughter, and the older daughters I did homeschool have retained what I taught them better than what they learned in the public schools. My oldest is 36 and the youngest is 12. I think this video really made a point of how kids are being dumbed down in schools, and the fact that the amount of words children are familiar with has gone down exponentially proves it. I loved the way they stressed that point with the story.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 388 other followers

