RSS

25 years later, bullies make amends with classmate

18 May

Twenty-five years after being bullied in High School, Lynda, posted a poem about herself and how it felt to be bullied in school.  Her former schoolmates, including the bullies saw the poem and decide to make amends.  They did not know what here life was back then, nor that her family was poor.  The truth is that being poor should not have been an excuse to bully her.  There is no reason good enough to bully someone.  These bullies just as most bullies, will live with a lifetime of guilt, or they will one day bully someone who can defend themselves…or will find the person they are bullying has friends who will stand up to them.  Here is the link to the video of Lynda’s story, and of the forgiveness that God gave her that allowed her to forgive those who had bullied her.

msnbc video: 25 years later, bullies make amends with classmate.

I remember in Junior High having a bully, in fact a girl named Debbie, who thought she had the right to taunt me because I didn’t pluck my eyebrows, nor did I wear makeup.  You see it is a tradition in my family that you don’t wear makeup or any other girly thing until you reach the age of 13, and you don’t date until you are 16.  She didn’t ask why I didn’t, just harangued me every day in class and the hallway between classes about it.  Until one day, my bestfriend had enough of it and took this girl on right by the door to English class.  Whenever Debbie harrassed me I just answered…”So?”, and walked off.  I had confidence that I could handle myself if I needed to so I just didn’t let it get to me.  The main reason I remember it all is because of my bestfriend  Linda.  She was the tallest girl in the school, and I was one of the shortest.  She was calm, friendly, and sweet, and I was like dynamite ready  to explode on anyone who gave me trouble.  Having been friends since 5th grade I can truly say I had never seen Linda angry, nor had I ever seen her in a fight. That day when she went off on my bully, was the day I found out how much of a friend she was, because she wasn’t going to let someone bully me or any of her friends.  When I think of best friends…Linda is the top and always will be, because she proved that like the Bible says…”Greater love has no man than this, that he would lay down his life for a friend.”   Linda knew what my home life was like and she encouraged me when it was the toughest.  It was because of Linda’s influence that I made a point of not letting my anger make me a bully, but instead to become one who would stand up for those I saw being bullied.  I wish more kids would be Lindas in this world, both like my friend, and like the Lynda in the story, and be forgiving when they are bullied, or be the friend that will stand up against bullies for their friends and even for those who aren’t their friends.  If you know someone who is being bullied, step up and be Jesus to that person.  Protect them, stand with them, encourage them, and show them that someone cares for them.  Who knows this may be the one who becomes your best friend for life.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “25 years later, bullies make amends with classmate

  1. beatrix mana

    May 18, 2012 at 10:22 PM

    I wore a body brace when I was in 5th thru 8th grade. I was always bullied especially by boys. My girlfriend would stick up for me. I have not seen her in years but I do pray for her. Thanks have a great weekend.

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      May 18, 2012 at 11:04 PM

      Who knows, one day she may come back into your life. My friend Linda, and I reconnected just 2 years ago, after about 30 years of not seeing each other. She is now one of my facebook friends. Funny thing is no one has seen or heard from the girl that was the bully in about the same amount of time. But I wish her no ill, but pray that she has learned that her behavior and treatment of others was wrong and that she has come to know the Lord and his grace and mercy.

       
  2. writerwannabe763

    May 18, 2012 at 10:15 PM

    Bullying while on the rise in this generation (or more noticed) is now at least being recognized as a problem and in the younger grade schools, it is being talked about so that hopefully by the time they get to middle and high school the rate will drop…but alas there will still be some who feel the need to do so. …just some thoughts Diane

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      May 18, 2012 at 11:00 PM

      I’m glad it is being talked about and called out more. What bothers me, having worked in public schools is the amount of this being done by gang members, and especially gang members who carry weapons. I’ve had to deal with it as staff, when a small white kid was being bullied by 2 hispanic gang members…not only hispanic, but illegal Mexican gang members who were part of the Soldano gang, which is a gang promoted by the drug cartels in Mexico. These kids have all kinds of weapons available to them, and so it isn’t the type of bullying we use to see. It now goes to the point of assualt and even murder. That is why you have kids committing suicide over bullying more and more. I appreciate your thoughts. It’s good that we all are talking about it, praying about it, and standing up against it!

       
  3. terry1954

    May 18, 2012 at 8:36 PM

    that was a beautiful story. i hate bullying. i just want to take each bully and spank them good, but of course, u can touch no child anymore,

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      May 18, 2012 at 9:15 PM

      I don’t have the patience or longing to be around bullies at all, and I can’t stand to see someone bullied either. I tend to cut anyone who bullies others out of my life. I have a sister-in-law and a few nieces like that and whenever they are at family gatherings there is turmoil. One of the daughters of my sister-in-law has threatened Jklyn if she told on her for being mean, stolen from Jklyn’s bank, and handcuffed my oldest grandson to a door. My sister-in-law has spoiled this daughter, and is oblivious to what her daughter does. She has called a few of us liars for telling her what her daughter was doing, and didn’t stop there but cussed us out, made threats, and even more. I have other nieces who have treated my sister, their mother like dirt, and I’ve even had to take that sister into my home to protect her from them until her husband got home from work. I went through abuse as a child and teen, and I have no longing to deal with bullies or have them in my life at all. I do believe that their actions though will come back often to haunt them, whether through their children and others, or through God.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 336 other followers

