RSS

A Tribute For My Mom

07 May

For those of you whose mothers are still alive, appreciate them, honor them, and show your love to them daily.  At the young age of 21 I lost my mom to colon cancer.  She was only 58 when she passed on and by a miracle of God that was 3 years longer than the doctors had given her to live.  I wonder often if my life would have been different had my mom been around for most of it.  I learned at 21 that you have to make the most of the time we have with others, because none of us are promised another day or another moment.  Life is too short to hold grudges, and letting anger or hurt come between you and someone you love only ruins your life.  I was blessed to be able to stay with my mom in the hospital her last few weeks of life, and during that time my mom shared a great deal of wisdom with me, and more than a few memories of when she was young.  As she spoke, I wrote each word down in a notebook, which I’ve since handed down to my oldest daughter as a memory of her grandmother who she remembered with love.  Since Mother’s Day is this weekend, I decided to post a poem I wrote for my mom on the 2nd anniversary of her passing on. 

Mom with 5 out of the nine children in our family. That is me, the tow-headed blond on her lap.

For Mom

In the midst of my sorrow,

I feel joyful tears.

Though she’s not around today,

I will see her in future years.

She was dear, kind, and sweet,

All the things that make a mother.

She forgave all the things I did.

To me, there could be no other.

She taught me right from wrong,

Although I often chose the wrong way.

When it turned out bad, she picked me up,

And showed me how to start a new day.

For the pain I put her through,

And the love she gave to me,

I know she did the best she could do,

Back then I didn’t, but now I see.

It’s funny how you never realize

Until the time is too late,

How good things were and how she cared,

Then you know as a mom she was great.

She shared the many tears you shed,

Your love, your hopes, and your joys.

She shared you many problems,

Whether school, family, or boys.

Her wish for you was always the best,

Only hoping for that which was good,

But then you chose all the rest,

Instead of that which you should.

She still stood by you,

And yes, she still cared,

If you had just realized

How well you really fared.

She may have yelled, or spanked you,

A couple of times or more.

She did it because you did things wrong.

You know, it hurt her to the core.

It’s not easy being a mom.

You see, I finally know it.

My mother was my role model,

And in her mold, I hope I fit.

Like I said, my mom is gone.

She went to Heaven’s sunny shores.

I know that I did her wrong,

I pray you don’t do the same to yours.

One day, I pray and not to long

I’ll join my Mom in Heaven above.

There I’ll be able to tell her what she meant

And share with her my love.

 I love you, Mom, and I’ll see you one day in Heaven!

Mom and Dad, with 6 of us, friends of my parents, and a soon to be son-in-law (center back row next to my oldest sister). I’m the little one asleep in my mother’s arms.  This was taken just before my little brother, Tim was born and before we left for the Azores.

My mother with my oldest daughter.

My mom and dad with the 7 youngest of the 9 siblings. I’m the one sitting in between my parents. This was taken the last year my dad was in the Air Force, and the same day that my mom found out that perms don’t take in my hair very well. It was suppose to be curly like her’s, but fell out within minutes of leaving the beauty shop. The dress I’m wearing is one my mom made me for Wizard of Oz material.  Mom usually made my clothes, since I was so much younger than my sisters, and raised among most of the boys.  By the time I came along hand me downs wouldn’t happen until I was a teen and my sisters were all married and away from home.  Then they would send things they had grown out of, or I bought my own clothes.  My fondest memories of my mom revolve around sewing ornaments for our Christmas tree, or helping her make a quilt. 

This is the last picture I took of my mom and dad together, our last trip to Chicago to visit my aunts and uncles on my mother’s side of the family. Little did I know it would be the very last of my mom, as she would pass away the beginning of the next year.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “A Tribute For My Mom

  1. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman

    June 4, 2012 at 7:58 PM

    What a lovely tribute. My mother was 57 when she died and I was 21 – she died of Kidney and heart disease. God has comforted me so much these past 30 years without her with my memories and her stories. Thank you for sharing your mom with us – she will live on in your heart. ~Patty

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      June 4, 2012 at 10:20 PM

      Thank you for reading my tribute to her. It seems those of us who have lost parnets when we were younger have come to a realization that many who have their parents still, don’t have….that we need to love and appreciate them and let them know daily, because none of us are promised another day.

       
  2. twisteddomesticgoddess

    May 7, 2012 at 11:31 PM

    Love this post. My mom lost her mother fairly early I was only 7 at the time and it was to cancer as well. I find pictures of me with my grandma and just wish she could’ve met my grandchildren she would’ve loved them.

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      May 8, 2012 at 12:14 AM

      With Jesus Christ as our Savior, we have that hope that one day they will meet their Grandparents. My youngest daughter, and my 3 adopted daughters never saw my parents either before they passed on, but I know that one day my daughters will all be hugging their grandparents in Heaven. I can’t wait for that day, especially with my youngest because she is so much like my mom. Right now…pictures and memories are a blessing. Each one brings back memories of the day it was taken, and many of these warm our hearts and let us know that they are always with us there.

       
  3. beatrix mana

    May 7, 2012 at 10:54 PM

    That is truly a beautiful post.Thank you.

     
  4. faithfulnibbles

    May 7, 2012 at 10:48 PM

    @Terry, I too, lost my mom 12 years ago. She was 69. And my dad, 6 years ago – he was 84. Never a day goes by that I don’t miss one or both of them in some way.

    As I have read both our and forhisgloryandpraise’s comments, so many memories of the days at my mom and dad’s bedside come to mine. Could not have done it with Jesus as my Lord. He gave me strength and hope and still does today.

    May God comfort and care for both of you.

     
  5. Lynne

    May 7, 2012 at 5:00 PM

    Such a beautiful tribute and a gentle reminder that life is such a precious gift. I do hope you have a beautiful mother’s day :-) God bless you and your family.

     
  6. originalapplejunkie

    May 7, 2012 at 2:50 PM

    This is beautiful..I try and cherish my mother every day..even though I’m not in the same country at the moment..but even if it’s just them knowing that you care..it’s enough =)

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      May 7, 2012 at 6:29 PM

      Moms love your voice even more than gifts, and when that voice says, “I love you” then you have given your mom the greatest gift ever. Treasure her, as I know you do since you are so far away from her.

       
  7. e1aine

    May 7, 2012 at 2:43 PM

    I had just dropped my Mum off home when I saw this post. I definitely filled up. We tend to forget to make the most of those we love. Thanks for the reminder.

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      May 7, 2012 at 6:32 PM

      You are welcome. My mother has been gone for 33 years now, and I hope all those with living moms will be touched by the thought enough to make sure this Mother’s Day and every day they take the time to treasure their moms and let them know how much they love and appreciate them.

       
  8. doublebhomestead

    May 7, 2012 at 1:34 PM

    We should tell all our loved ones we love them not just our Mom’s because someday they will be gone, and the opportunity will be passed. Thank you for sharing this post.

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      May 7, 2012 at 6:36 PM

      You are right! I was going to address dads closer to Father’s Day, but yes we should treasure all our loved ones whether friend or family. Having learned that as such a young age it is probably been the one thing I try to constantly remind others of, and the one thing I try to constantly do for my own loved ones, not only vocally, but with hugs, kisses, and just being with them and encouraging them.

       
  9. terry1954

    May 7, 2012 at 12:08 PM

    i thank you for this, as i have been thinking of my own mom much more with Mother’s Day approaching. I lost her 12 years ago, and not one day usually goes by without a thought of her. i love you mom

     
    • forhisgloryandpraise

      May 7, 2012 at 6:39 PM

      Those of us that have lost our parents tend to realize more how much they mean to us, because they are gone. As we hold on to God during these times we can feel the peace that our loved ones know that they are in our hearts and minds. When I have these times where I miss my mother most, I always take the time to say a prayer and ask the Lord to let her know that I love her and miss her. Although I’m allergic to roses, sometimes I will get a single yellow rose to put in the house to remind me of her. It was her favorite flower.

       
      • terry1954

        May 7, 2012 at 6:48 PM

        i am allergic to roses also and most fresh flowers

         
      • forhisgloryandpraise

        May 7, 2012 at 6:59 PM

        Me too. But will do this for my mom just because it reminds me of her. I have to be careful with most flowers, so alot of the scents used in my home are fruit scents. My husband know how allergic I am so instead of getting me flowers (except carnations which I’m not allergic to) he gets me potted herbs for my herb garden.

         

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 374 other followers

